Home > ResourceBlog > Article

« All ResourceBlog Articles

 

Feed

Friday, 30th October 2009

Facebook Invites User Comments on Proposed Changes to Privacy Policy

From an Article

Facebook head of communications Elliot Schrage posted a company blog entry on Thursday inviting members to review proposed updates to the social network's privacy policy, and much of it deals with what happens to the content of accounts that members have opted to delete.

"Specifically, we've included sections that further explain the privacy setting you can choose to make your content viewable by everyone, the difference between deactivating and deleting your account," and the process of memorializing an account once we've received a report that the account holder is deceased," Schrage wrote. Earlier this week, Facebook detailed the process of "memorializing" an account, which leaves the profile intact to current friends but hides potentially sensitive information.

Now, in the proposed new policy, which members are invited to review and comment on until November 5, Facebook explains to users that they can "deactivate" their account, which hides it but keeps information stored for potential reactivation, or alternately choose to delete it for good.

Access the Complete Article

Source: CNET

See Also: Access the Facebook Blog Post About Proposed Changes

Other Areas Up for Revision Are:

+ Clarification of Current Practices

+ Advertising on Facebook

+ Improving the Quality of Facebook's Ads


Category:




« All ResourceBlog Articles






 

 
 
 

Article Categories

All Article Categories »

Archive

All Archives »